Scorched Earth

May 1, 2010 at 1:14 am 9 comments

Finally! This project took about one month to research and report (March) and another to work out and draw (April). I’m proud to present Scorched Earth, a 24-page black and white journalistic comic by yours-truly. This is the lengthiest attempt I’ve made at journalism in comics, and I’m really happy with how it turned out! It’s a non-fiction story about a particular plot of land in my town, White River Junction, VT. It starts slow, but as the title suggests, there is some action involved. I’ll be shipping these puppies for $3 or selling them in person for the unbelievably reasonable price of $2. [Edit from the future: no longer available. Visit for my site for current work.] I’m gonna try something new here and just give a three page preview. You can decide if reading the rest is worth the price of a peppermint whoop-de-do.

Entry filed under: CCS homework, comics, journalism, scorched earth, small press, vt, writing, wrj. Tags: , , , , .

A Tale From San Papel Ink-Only Sketchbook… Excelsior!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andy C  |  May 1, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    JOSH! This looks GREAT! Your buildings are drawn great! I’m excited to see the rest next week.

    Reply
  • 2. Judy K.  |  May 3, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Fabulous! You’ve achieved what you set out to do. The cover is stunning.

    Reply
  • 3. Mordechai kramer  |  May 7, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Quite impressive Josh. Keep up the good work

    Uncle Mordechai

    Reply
  • 4. 5 Author Updates (3) | Significant Objects  |  May 9, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    […] Josh Kramer just wrapped up a new minicomic called Scorched Earth. He says: “It’s the story of a plot of land in a small Vermont […]

    Reply
  • 5. hilary  |  July 5, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    glad to see comics school is treating you well. i’ve recently read ‘fun home,’ and comics, especially of the bechdel caliber, are new obsession for me. i just had to tell you this reminds me of her work, the documentary/archival comic. nice!

    Reply
  • 6. MICE and Other New Things « Josh Kramer Blog  |  September 7, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    […] my wares with some of my CCS chums and I’d love to see you. For sale will be the reprint of SCORCHED EARTH, the $2 non-fiction epic that may or may not be about a strip club. Here’s the revised […]

    Reply
  • 7. ALFRED kRAMER  |  May 12, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    vERY IMPRESSIVE JOSH

    Reply
  • 8. Nathan V.  |  April 14, 2012 at 2:16 am

    I just picked up a copy of Scorched Earth at a comic shop that just opened up today, and I’d just like to say that I love it. The amount of research you’ve done for this title really shows, and the story allows the readers to invest themselves into the New. England town of WRJ. It’s honest and personal, much like Pekar’s American Splendor was.

    I did get this book for free, though, and while it is under a CC license, I feel like I should owe you the $2. Though, once I get a saddle stapler, I may end up making copies to give out to some local art shops (for free! I’ll comply with the license, don’t worry!), so I might end up buying another copy to make my copies from. We’ll see how that goes.

    ANYWAY, the point of this rambling post is that I appreciate your work. Keep it up!

    Reply
    • 9. Josh  |  April 14, 2012 at 2:26 am

      Hey Nathan, thanks for the compliments. Which shop just opened up? Share-alike as you will. You may want to check out what I’m up to nowadays at CartoonPicayune.com, which is kinda an extension of what I was trying to do in Scorched Earth.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Older Posts