Ink-Only Sketchbook… Excelsior!

May 13, 2010 at 6:15 am 2 comments

I find myself at the end of my first year at the Center for Cartoon Studies. One of my goals this summer is to keep an Ink-Only Sketchbook, and to keep you, dear reader, in the loop as I do it. I’m having fun — some stuff from my head; some stuff from pictures. No pencil; no white out; no prep. I’m doing these with my pentel pocket brush and my new (eBay) rapidographs, but I’ve been using so many new tools I should really do a post about that in itself. Click any image to big-a-fy. Here’s a collage of stuff I like from the first few pages:

And for fun, here are some drawings side by side with the reference I was copying from. First is from street fasion photog The Sartorialist. I probably wouldn’t seek out this blog on my own, but I get such guilty pleasure from it when my friends share it on Google Reader. I just love the gesture in this one.

I don’t know if this is interesting or if it makes my drawing feel flat by comparison. Let me know in the comments if you want. But it’s also a way to let you know what I’ve been looking at. Here’s one from another photography site, The Big Picture. It’s a great reminder of the powerful and artistic work done by photographers for wire services, the bulk of which is usually only seen by photo editors. I loved this composition.

The final image is a reminder that I’m still just a boy who loves comics. I saw the new Iron Man movie, and I’m glad I didn’t read any criticism beforehand. I loved it, and I wish I was 12 so I could love it even more. I went back and reread the very similar current comics series Invincible Iron Man,  and liked reading it more than before. No surprise really: it’s written by Matt Fraction. Anyway, here’s War Machine in issue 11, being a badass.

Entry filed under: blogging, ink only, sketchbook, summer. Tags: , , , , , .

Scorched Earth The Yay Area

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sarah  |  May 18, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Love your idea. I’m going to the UK on Sunday for two weeks and am planning on keeping a similar type of sketchbook. I’ll keep you posted.

    I also loved the giraffes! And Iron Man (2)!!!

    I recommend going to National Geographic’s website. They have absolutely amazing photography there. Seriously–check it out.

    Reply
  • 2. sarah  |  May 18, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Also, when I’m feeling particularly self-destructive as far as journalling goes, I google “moleskinerie” for flicker. It’s inspiring to see what people do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


