Comics Update

November 13, 2008 at 3:14 am 3 comments

Though I haven’t written about them in a while, comics remains a very big part of my life. Here are some bullet points about concerning comics, myself, and the intersection of both.

  • I’m almost through with a new mini comic called “The Black Squirrels of Washington, D.C.” which is in black and white and fits on both sides of an 8.5 by 11 piece of paper. This is the first time I’m actively designing a comic in InDesign and actually spending a good ammount on time on the drawings (the image above is an example). I’ll give it away free and make it available here.
  • While I haven’t yet read this, one of my favorite illustrators, Jillian Tamaki, has a new graphic novel called SKIM that she did with her cousin, Mariko Tamaki. It has been reaping awards, but in an almost textbook example of comics not being understood, it is often called a children’s book. Worse yet, the book recieved a Governor’s General Literary Award in Canada, but only Mariko, the writer, was awarded. Check out this star-studed open letter of protest.
  • Publications about comics are notoriously lame. Either you’re very high brow like the Comics Journal, or rediculously low brow like Wizard, but never in the middle. Now there’s Comics Foundry, which I’m proud to report is really good. It is interesting, funny, and has great puns. Keep your eyes peeled for that one.
  • Jesse Reklaw is another great comics artist worth watching. His weekly syndicated comic, Slow Wave, illustrates his readers’ dreams, and his unbelievably quickly updated comics diary is really interesting and amusing.
  • Recently I went to the Small Press Expo, or SPX, in Bethesda, where I met a lot of people I’d heard of, including the artists mentioned above. I also bought a lot of minis and saw great panels on topics like collaboration and indie publishing. Alt comix rulz!
  • Several major comics opportunities loom on the horizon for me, not least amongst them the Center for Cartoon Studies, of which I’ve written about previously. I’m going there this weekend for their portfolio day and to decide if I will apply for next fall. Wish me luck; more updates to come.

Entry filed under: art, artists, children's books, comics, east coast, fun, illustration, small press, writing. Tags: , , , , , , .

It’s been a long, a long time coming… Postcard #6: An Experiment In Form

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dad  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:36 am

    Now that’s an impressive squirrel. Art work is really improving. Best of luck in VT

    Reply
  • 2. Dan I  |  November 13, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Must second your father, Josh. That squirrel is really impressive. Take care.

    Reply
  • 3. jasmine  |  November 20, 2008 at 1:33 am

    hi josh this is your aunt judy’s friend jasmine i like your drawing i like drawing too keep ^ the good work.!!! =)

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Older Posts