The Center for Cartoon Studies

December 29, 2007 at 8:26 pm 2 comments

So, today I stumbled on the only graduate school program I’ve ever really been excited about. I don’t really like the idea that I MUST go the another college in order to be successful, especially since what I’m thinking about doing isn’t often reflected by post-graduate degree programs.

However, today, via Parson’s Illustration Dept.’s Blog, I stumbled upon the Center for Cartoon Studies. In their one or two year programs, there is an emphasis on comics creation from the alternative perspective. Visiting artists include Chris Ware, Scott McCloud, and other people I admire and respect. Well, I began to look around online, and it turns out it’s also in the cool little town of White River Junction, Vermont. It’s conveniently located ten minutes from Dartmouth on the border of NH and VT. This tiny art town is full of creative and eclectic people. I mean, just look at this website. One of the headlines exclaims the town’s pleasure now that Revolution, a local cafe and clothing store, will be carrying Seven Days, one of the most impressive independent newspapers I’ve ever seen. Most impressive, is this comic published in Seven Days, which I loved; it’s a great look into life there.

Entry filed under: alternative, art, comics, school, small press. Tags: , , .

Baked (?!) Eggs New York for New Years

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annierebekah  |  December 31, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Joshie I have to tell you that though Dartmouth is small, I really adore that area of the country and it is a quicker-than-quick drive to Bigger Cities such as Boston.

    Reply
  • 2. Comics Update « Josh Kramer Blog  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:15 am

    […] on the horizon for me, not least amongst them the Center for Cartoon Studies, of which I’ve written about previously. I’m going there this weekend for their portfolio day and to decide if I will apply for next […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


