Reporting Projects Abound!

December 8, 2010 at 6:19 am 2 comments

Hey there true believers! I’ve been messing around with colored India ink. It’s really fun stuff, and I’m really happy to be able to apply color with a dip pen. If you add water it’s like watercolor. If you add brush-on white-out it’s like gauche. Anyway, here are some drawings I did of each of the subjects I’m working on currently.

Highest priority for me right now is a 22-page story about apple cider. It’s a profile piece about a local orchardist and his struggle to keep his New England farm financially viable in the 21st Century. This story is more quiet and poetic than the kind I’ve told before, and I think it’s coming out nicely. I really enjoyed researching on the finer details of apple growing.

I’m also working on a story about ski jumping. People actually do this winter sport here in the Upper Valley. I’m going to follow local high-schoolers through their season this winter. New jumpers will take to the hills for the first time and seasoned upperclassmen will aspire to find glory at the State Championships this February.

Finally, on the periphery right now is a freelance job for a local paper (my first!). They want a page on the parenting challenges inherent to ice fishing. As I find out more about it, the potential for a longer story is obvious. I wonder how long I’d actually be willing to wait out on the ice while the mercury freezes in the bottom of the thermometer. And while I might not be able to go out there to be on deadline for this story, I think I’d like to go watch it once this season.

Entry filed under: color, comics, css, drawing, east coast, fun, illustration, inking, inspiration, vt, wrj. Tags: , , , .

The Cartoon Picayune Audiobooks

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lena Chandhok  |  December 8, 2010 at 6:24 am

    I’m loving your ink illustrations, man! I think the ice fishing one is my favorite.

    Reply
  • 2. Josh Neufeld  |  January 2, 2011 at 5:17 am

    Hey, I like these! Bright, lively colors, with a nice painterly feel. More, please.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


