Summer Wrap-Up: Pencil Time!

August 31, 2010 at 6:04 am Leave a comment

Well! This summer hasn’t been a season of regular posting, has it? I’m sorry — I am, really! — but hopefully this post will make up for it. My main artistic project this summer was an ink-only sketchbook, which I began in Vermont in May (about five posts ago). This has lead to some pretty enjoyable improvements in my brush-handling (if I do say so myself), and my style (?) has changed quite a bit. So it was with great relish that I returned to penciling before I ink. I’ve left a lot of the pencil marks on these drawings to show a little of the process. The main occasion for picking up the 3H was a new set of watercolors (thanks Mom!), and I had a lot of fun:

Remember her? It’s Paradisa from Nymphonomena! I shudder when I look at my art from that story, but I guess that’s part of the game now. Anyways, I was inspired by the watercolors over on Gabby’s site, and I’m looking forward to some more experiments. I’ve been home in PA for a little while now, and I’ve taken a few trips, but this time has given me a chance to read some (non-comic) books. One, which I listened to the audio book of, was Medium Raw, the new one by Anthony Bourdain. There’s a great chapter about eating Ortolan. If you haven’t heard it, listen to the amazing story from This American Life, which starts at 18 minutes and 16 seconds into the free live stream.

This next one is a little self-explanatory. I furiously re-read the seventh and final book because I had it here and didn’t want to bring it back to Vermont. Got to be ready for the first of those last two movies. Also, are there American wizards? (This one gets bigger if you want.)

Finally, here’s a chimp.

Oh, and if you want to look at puuuurrrrdy pictures from my California mini-trip with my girlfriend, they’re all here. They’re in reverse order, but it doesn’t really matter. Back in Vermont September 1st!

Entry filed under: animals, CA, color, drawing, illustration, sketchbook, summer. Tags: , , , , , , .

Let’s have a contest! Are you good with faces? MICE and Other New Things

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


