Drawing from Photos in Nat Geo

March 14, 2010 at 4:40 am 1 comment

I recently re-subscribed to National Geographic (I missed it!), and my new favorite thing to do is copying photo into a sketchbook. So far I’ve mostly been copying out small sections or figures but this time I thought I’d try and copy most of a picture.

As I was finishing it I realized that one of the most interesting things about the photo is the color, so I scanned in my drawing and colored it with my tablet. It’s an experiment in a way I don’t usually work, so be nice.

Here’s the original photo, taken by Paul Nicklen in South Georgia. Click on it to go to the whole slideshow that accompanies the article.

Entry filed under: art, color, drawing, inking, magazines. Tags: , .

New Comics Anthologies For Sale! A Comics Project Announcement!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Judy K.  |  March 15, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


