I Still Love Food!

February 18, 2010 at 6:10 am 3 comments

To new readers of this blog, it might appear like I am only interested in comics. But lo ho ho dear reader! This summer I return to one of my passions — selling cheese! I can hear you snickering from here, but it’s true! I’ll be working for at least two months in the Cowgirl Creamery shop located in San Fransisco’s Ferry Building. I’ve only been to California once, so I’m really excited to live there for a little while and “soak up the sun” as pop poet laureate Crow has said. Anyway, I found out yesterday and it was snowing for real again here, so I celebrated with this hearty meal:

Nothing fancy, but extremely delicious nonetheless. Harpoon beer, good tomato soup, good olives, and a fantastic grilled cheese. (Also note my mental meal: Adrian Tomine cover of The NYer and Bone in one volume on the left-hand side.) For grilled cheese, bread is important, and so is butter (Vermont Butter and Cheese Co. butter is the obvious choice), but it’s all about the cheese. When you’re melting cheeses, it’s important to take texture and melting temperature into account as well as flavor when choosing. For instance, I love Parmesan, but it takes forever to melt and it usually doesn’t melt completely.

My ideal cheeses for grilled cheese are “semi-soft” cheeses: good up to the rind, they have some give when you press them, and well, they melt beautifully. In my mind, the first cheese I think of in this category is Appalachian, made down in VA. Anyway, this sandwhich had two of these cheeses, but the one I can remember the name of is Dorset, a local washed-rind cheese that’s new to me but that I like very much. Also, see that green spot in the soup? I have to thank Pat and Caitlin for their tip about making ice cubes of cilantro — super useful.

Entry filed under: bliss, CA, cheese, cooking. Tags: , , , , , , .

Lady Killers: The Baby-Faced Beast! Fun with Children’s Books

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nomi  |  February 18, 2010 at 7:06 am

    While I’m in complete agreement about the importance of cheese – don’t underestimate the role of bread! Grilled cheese on sourdough is a completely different experience than grilled cheese on whole wheat.

    Reply
  • 2. Caitlin  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I was just at the Cowgirl Creamery in San Francisco last weekend. I can’t believe you’ll be there this summer. I’m definitely coming to visit you. And I expect some delicious free cheese.

    Reply
  • 3. Dad  |  March 4, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    S.F. is a great town & you will have a blast exploring as I know you will

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


