Root Hog, or Die: Halloweenie

November 2, 2009 at 5:40 am 2 comments

This blog is transitioning. I’m trying to ramp back up to posting frequently. I’m getting a lot of good feedback on my comics, but I’m not working quick enough to post only comics here. John Porcellino, who I blogged about recently, has a great feature in King-Cat called “Top 40” where he just lists great things he has experienced between issues. This ranges from movies and records to feelings and car trips.

I asked him about the lists, and he said that he just wanted something positive to combat the cynicism he saw growing in zines and punk rock. He doesn’t arrange the items on his lists hierarchically, but poetically, like the rest of King-Cat. I’ve decided to start a list of my own here on the blog and I’m naming it after another King-Cat-ism: Root hog, or die.

1. Where the Wild Things Are movie

2. Chris Ware Granta cover (above), New Yorker cover, and New Yorker story

3. Listening to wind chimes outside while falling asleep on a windy night

4. Tracy Morgan on Fresh Air, being interviewed by Terry Gross (“I feel Terry!”)

5. Jonathan Ames reading his story, “Bored to Death,” on the McSweeney’s App

6. My hand-painted copy of Dash Shaw’s new book

7. Driving stick around town

8. Getting PAID for a comic for the first time

9. Mad Men Season Three

10. Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons — “The Night”

11. “Badlands Billy” by naturalist/artist Ernest Thompson Seton

12. Maple syrup coated baked pumpkin seeds

13. White River Junction halloween parade

Image is Chris Ware’s Chicago cover for Granta. Courtesy of Granta, and Drawn and Quarterly for jpeg.

Entry filed under: root hog.

Diary comic: Restaurant Interruption Diary Comic: Lupine Inspiration

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dizzymslizzy  |  November 10, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    i dig this listing style. i’ve been doing this in a handwritten calendar/journal for the last 4/5 years.

    Reply
  • 2. Root Hog, Or Die: Indian Fall « Josh Kramer Blog  |  November 16, 2009 at 12:09 am

    […] 16, 2009 This is the second installation in a new on-going series at the Josh Kramer […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


