Welcome to White River Junction!

August 25, 2009 at 6:05 am 3 comments

Welcome to White River Junction, Vermont, pop. 2,500. I’ve been here just over a week, and I’m learning a little more about it every day. Today I learned about the era of the railroad boom-times from my new friend Ernie, who was playing upright bass in the park. (Here’s video.)

He told me that when he was growing up here, there were trains running in different shifts all night and all day. According to Ernie, there were four or five restaurants that stayed open all night because the town was so bustling. And I had heard a story, which Ernie confirmed as true, that a single game of poker was played continuously for 25 years! These days? More on that to come. Here is the house I am living in:

I live in the top of the back portion of the house. It’s a nice little apartment that I think will be quite cozy come winter. This place is obviously different from anywhere I’ve lived before. To explain further in future posts but for now I’ll leave you with the view out my window:

Entry filed under: vt, wrj. Tags: , .

Cool Philadelphia Small Businesses My First Mini: Bat Tweets!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lizzie  |  August 25, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    looks very beautiful. stay warm up there tiger.

    Reply
  • 2. Sunshine+Design  |  August 25, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    How very Andrew Sullivan of you. I look forward to hearing about your explorations. That house looks amazing. –Katie

    Reply
  • 3. seriousglee  |  August 26, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Looks lovely. Looking forward to more updates!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


