De Stijl Lego Sculpture

June 12, 2009 at 6:52 pm Leave a comment

So I’m back at home, and last night I took out some legos because I wanted to do something with my hands. I took everything apart and put all the colors together and this is what I had:

These are the colors of Dutch painter Piet Mondrian. He was influential not only in painting but also design, and he owns these colors:

Above is “Composition A.” I decided to make a version with legos. I had two yellow flat pieces that together formed a 32 x 32 lego unit square. Here’s where it gets nerdy. I took the image you see above and laid a grid over it in photoshop:

Note the Icon Factory icons in my dock. The lines didn’t match up exactly, but I was able to figure it out and start laying down the legos:

As you can see, I wasn’t able to keep the level the same throughout or have the black lines from the original painting. However, I’m pleased with the final product, which was best captured with the camera’s flash on. Maybe next time I’ll try something more difficult.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Just How Healthy Is The New Yorker? Cool Philadelphia Small Businesses

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


