Valentine’s Day Cupcake Tour

February 15, 2009 at 11:10 pm 4 comments

The cupcake trend has hit DC with full force. Forget donuts and frozen yogurt, there are at least 4 popular boutique cupcakeries within city limits. For Valentine’s day this year, I figured that the lady and I would do our best to try some of them out. Here’s the route we took, and all the pictures. (She also tweeted the whole way, if you’re into “new media.”)

We started at Baked ‘n Wired. One of my bosses wrote an article about the cupcake obsession, and picked out this place for making “the only just-right cupcake.” (First, watch the accompanying video, it’s great! Second, AU students who have taken photography should note the photo credit at the top of the article.)

I thought it was amazing. I got a “chocolate satin” cupcake, and apparently I was making a lot of strange noises as I demolished the thing. The icing was extremely creamy and luscious, but the flavor of the cake itself was huge. Without being overpowering or too buttery, it was really delicious.

Next we walked over to Georgetown Cupcake, which I’ve heard is more in the Magnolia Cupcake tradition, and it is ripped apart in the above-linked video. Frank Bruni loved this place. I went to Magnolia when I went to New York over a year ago. I took these pictures there, and remember waiting a long time but really enjoying it. Unfortunately, there was a really long wait at Georgetown, and we spotted a kid we really dislike in line, so we decided to go elsewhere.

We walked to Hello Cupcake in Dupont. We took our cupcakes home for later, and it did make a nice dessert. I mean, let’s be serious, it’s hard to not like a cupcake! The Baked ‘n Wired cupcake was more fresh, but the Hello cupcake (I got a peanut butter blossom) was more classic tasting. B+W was definitley the winner, and I really reccomend it, even at $3.50 a pop. I’m still curious about Red Velvet over in Penn Quarter, but I’m sure I’ll get there sooner or later.

Entry filed under: baked goods, bliss, dairy, local food. Tags: , , , , , .

Snowman CCS Application Gettin’ Clips: What Gets Left On The Cutting Room Floor

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. milk inspector  |  February 16, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    bro gtown cupcake stomps baked and wired. (tho baked and wired has a nice carrot cake. staff is kinda uptight there and dogged on gtown cupcake–can you believe it? not professional) i’ve biked crosst town in the rain numerous times for a rendezvous with that small cake, and from whole foods to magnolia to everything in between, i’d say gtown cupcake deserves the hype. Runner up/honorable mentions go to Buzz Bakery and cupcakedc.
    haven’t tried hello cupcake, but it seems a newcomer (hit crash).

    Reply
  • 2. Annie  |  February 17, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    but no Cakelove???

    Reply
  • 3. Josh Kamer (the real one)  |  February 20, 2009 at 1:53 am

    Why are you using my name on a blog? I m not gay or heterosexual and I do not make cupcakes! F*** cupcakes you guys need to lose weight and go to the gym! working out is the best feeling in the world.

    Reply
  • 4. Porta Treptower  |  March 10, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    “I m not gay or heterosexual” – hahaha

    i heart cupcakes x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


