A Few Selected Crafty Bastards

October 12, 2008 at 11:57 pm 1 comment

OK, so I’m working my way forwards through cool things that have happened recently. So Crafty Bastards is a twice annual fair for people who make things. Last year, I was blown away by the diversity and creativity. This year, I still thought it was cool, but realized that the whole fun of it is probably walking around and looking at everything. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a lot of really great merchandise, but with people more strapped for cash than ever, I wonder how many freaky little stuffed creatures, New-Yorker-cover journals, and $30 t-shirts were actually purchased at the festival a few weekends ago. Still, certain things stood out to me. Above are Owly Shaddow Puppets, and below, a pun I could not resist—8th Street’s Soap Kitchen‘s Spruce Springstein.

Entry filed under: art, arts on foot, clothing, crafts, DC. Tags: , , , .

Postcard #5: Skin Cancer Larry Engel’s Eggs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Laura Ruth  |  December 12, 2008 at 6:56 am

    This soap reminds me of my uncles soap line, the Barking Crow, which is made using recycled materials he finds in dumpsters and may or may not still be in business. What is with all these soaps and pun names.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


