Yes, We Get the Times Here

September 2, 2008 at 2:50 am Leave a comment

I’m at the point in my education where more than half of my classes insist that I read The New York Times or The Washington Post daily. The WaPo is interesting if you live here, but the Times is already my go to news source, and more than that, the place I go to when I have nothing to read on the internet. In the dorms (years ago now), I would occasionally grab a free copy, but there was something about the arrangement that didn’t quite work for me. Now that I can split the price of subscription (at a student’s rate) with my roommates, and it comes right to my door, as you can see.

There’s something nice about holding a paper; it’s good to support a failing industry; blah blah BLAH. Truth is, I’ve been reading the Times since high school. Maybe it’s because I know the paper more, or maybe I just know more about the world, but I’ve never enjoyed it (the whole thing) more than I do now. And as a journalism major and graphic design minor, it’s interesting to me that I read the website differently than the hard copy. With the paper in my hands, I start with the front page: continuing articles into the back, coming back to the front, and working my way through; elaborately folding the whole way. With the website, I check often for breaking news and I look at the most e-mailed. That list is often what’s interesting but it’s also telling to know what other readers are reading. Now, it’s a new sensation to look at headlines in one format or the other and remember that I already read the corresponding article — elsewhere.

Entry filed under: internet, journalism, juxtapositions, new york, newspapers, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The Last Day of Summer Postcard #1: Marvin Gaye

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


