The Last Day of Summer

August 25, 2008 at 5:41 am Leave a comment

Well, senior year starts tomorrow. I’ve had a pretty good summer. Good times all around. I’ve been back in DC for about a month now, working at my beloved Cowgirl Creamery and dispensing cheese to the rich and hungry. I always love summer for what it promises (swimming, walks, BBQ, etc.) but not what it costs (poison ivy, working in the heat, etc.). Above is the nice end of summer meal I made tonight for some guests. The chicken was fried in crushed corn flakes (crispy!); the pasta salad is tossed with carrot, bell pepper, shallot, parsley, basil; the artichoke was just boiled soft. I intended to do more with that ‘choke, but you can only do so much some times, you know?

Towards the end of this past week, a friend and I descended into Shenandoah National Park for a hike and overnight camping. We saw two black bear cubs and fantastic summer stars. The above picture is a view almost identical to what we enjoyed the first day. I used to go camping a lot more. I missed it — but frankly wondered if I would still enjoy it. But there are wonderful things that you can forget, like the raw feeling on your hands at the end of the trip.

And still, it’s even easier to forget that I was traveling around Europe at the beginning of summer. Today in CVS, a French girl asked me if all American notebooks were line ruled, and not squared like she was used to. “Sorry,” I said, “that’s not how they do it here.”

Photo of Shenandoah courtesy of flickr user PatrickMMoore.

Entry filed under: camping, cooking, europe, school, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Winnemere and a Dark ‘N’ Stormy Yes, We Get the Times Here

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


