Making Limoncello

July 23, 2008 at 3:30 am 4 comments

Limoncello is a delicious aperitif, but it is not for everyone. When I first tried it in Naples, I was surpised by how alcoholic it tasted and how refreshing it was in spite of that. I was more than willing to shell out ten euros for the bottle you see below in Herculaneum, but I was blown away when I found out how easy it is to make. I took the bottle home filled it with my own batch, which I’m now enjoying.

I celebrated the fact that I can now legally purchase a bottle of Everclear (you need a really high proof vodka) with Dr. Fankhauser’s awesome limoncello recipe. This recipe is really straightforward and easy and all you need is vodka, sugar, lemons, and water. Drink limoncello in freezer-frosted shot or aperitif glasses and savor the Vesuviana flavor.

Entry filed under: cooking, drinks, italian food, Italy, recipies. Tags: , , , .

An Open Letter to the Fans of “Hancock” (Spoilers) Rad Libs are ________ (Adverb) Fun

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deliaeleti  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Ciao Josh, have you ever tasted a chocolate liquor??
    It’s delicious!!!
    My mum prepares an handmaker liquor very good!
    Ciao

    Reply
  • 2. dckaplan  |  July 24, 2008 at 2:46 am

    I have one small bottle of grandpop’s Kahlua left. I’ll save you a taste.

    Reply
  • 3. Ben  |  July 30, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Do you find that the vodka version is as refreshing and alcoholic? I have found grain alcohol batches to be much closer to an Italian version.

    Reply
  • 4. The Barman@The Wine Bar.eu  |  February 1, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    I have a recipe for limoncello and strawberry ice-cream, from the chef Gennaro Contaldo. It is bloody delicious – I made it for a dinner party a couple of months ago. Email me if you want it and I’ll dig it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


