Napoli, Capitale del Sud

April 22, 2008 at 11:16 pm 1 comment

Not this last weekend, but the weekend before, I went to Naples with my friend Mike. It is a beautiful city, although I will say that Naples has more spark and character and imagination in one fingernail than any hill town has in its entire body, to paraphrase a favorite movie of mine. I think of the lemon I brought home as a metaphor for the city. Bigger than most, ruddy, more flavorful, more colorful, bumpy, a bit dirty, etc. The task of writing about it is daunting, and I have made a simple list.

Things I Loved About Naples

  • fruta di mare — fresh seafood in sauce or just with lemon
  • Pizza! Buffalo mozzarella! We waited for 45 minutes to get into a place that served only margherita or marina, and it was amazing.
  • The architecture was awesome. Modest and subtle, but with striking contrast of colors.
  • The price was great, everything was just a little cheaper, which is cool once in a while.
  • Transportation was easy, clean, and efficient. Not to mention day passes for three euro.
  • It is safe to go out at night. The nightlife was young and entirely Italian.
  • There’s an amazing craft tradition of miniature nativity scenes of entire villages.
  • The Bay of Naples is at your fingertips, with the islands, the Amalfi coast, and the volcanic archaeological sites.

Of course, my fears about Naples’ crime were not entirely unfounded and my camera was pick-pocketed. I’m over it, but I was pretty upset at the time. For this post, I’ve taken some screenshots of the Sopranos episode where they go to Naples. I’ve looked into getting a camera here and when I was in Morocco, but I think I’d rather just get a camera I actually want for a reasonable price when I eventually go home. I’m going to get another memory card for when I travel with Mia, and supplement that with a couple of disposables.

Entry filed under: bliss, food, history, Italy, travel, Wes Anderson. Tags: , , , , , .

Live from Madrid Barajas Airport McDonald’s at the Spanish Steps

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sarah  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    you win points for the reference to Rushmore!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


