Ostia Antica: The Port City Swallowed By Time

March 16, 2008 at 10:25 pm 1 comment

Yesterday I went on a day trip to Ostia Antica. Simply put, this used to be ancient Rome’s port city. Two thousand years later, the water isn’t there any more. Silt deposits have moved the coast farther out. In another two thousand years, any East Coast port city would be lucky to look this good, but none of them will probably get the chance, as water levels now seem to rising.

My favorite part was the spectacular amphitheater, which reminded me of Swarthmore’s which I didn’t realize how much I loved until I went to my school with our terribly shitty concrete version. I think it would be nice to see a play there.

Also, my collective readership, I need advice. From what I’ve been told, Naples sounds like the most METAL city in Italy. One girl said that she saw a girl mauled by a dog on the street in front of her hostel. I hear stories where people get mugged, robbed, the whole deal. Is this legitimate? I know the place has a mob/trash stereotype, but should I actually stay there or just swoop in for a pizza on my way down south?

Entry filed under: Italy, Roma, travel. Tags: , , , , .

In Defense of References and Casanova Quinn Mythology at Centrale Montemartini

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mentalmosaic  |  March 17, 2008 at 10:48 am

    By all means, stay in Naples. Yes, the city has a lingering bad reputation, but there are a gazillion cops in the main touristic areas, with undercover cops, called Falchi, keeping an eye on things, too.

    I live in Naples, in the Spanish Quarter, and I feel completely comfortable walking the streets alone. The people watching is great, food is tasty and cheap and there is history everywhere. Like any city, I don’t walk after dark, wander away from populated areas, or do silly things like wave cash around in public.

    As a woman, I have had scary experiences taking a walk at midday in Seattle’s White Center area and also while living in a neighboring city. I’ve never felt that way in Naples! Sure, someone may say, ‘Ciao Bella,’ but they don’t chase after me and try to get me in their car, like I’ve had happen in the states. (In fact, I really ought to blog about that…)

    Check out my blog for up-to-date info about the trash information (the city itself is messy, but not piled with trash, btw) and all the different kinds of cops you will see in Naples. Drop me a line if you would like to know more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Older Posts


