Testaccio Slaughterhouse Street Art

March 6, 2008 at 4:12 pm 3 comments

Earlier this week, a professor of mine turned me on to an amazing place. Across the river, in the gentrifying community of Testaccio, is a former slaughterhouse. The complex is huge, and different parts of it are being used for difficult purposes, including the architecture department of one of Rome’s universities. But behind that, is some of the best street art/graffiti I have ever seen.

I don’t think it’s unfair to say that street art is big right now. In fact, the New York Times’ travel section currently features this article on NYC street art, and a less stodgy one about Berlin’s street art, which I will be sure to report on after I visit Berlin as part of spring break. Rome certainly has a lot of street art, especially graffiti. The slaughterhouse seems to serve as a sort of proving ground. It’s a place with a lot of high, blank walls, and well, it’s an abandoned slaughterhouse, which is cool. There are some tags that are clearly old, but there is clearly innovation as well.

Typographically, graffiti tags are interesting to me because a clear understanding of form, composition, and color are essential. However, legibility is often sacrificed, which I have to admit irks me a little. That doesn’t mean I don’t love looking at them though — this place is an awesome find. I took a lot pictures; look your heart out.

Entry filed under: art, color, Roma, street art, typography. Tags: , , , .

Florence: Art, Beans, Leather Shopping in Porta Portese

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karin  |  March 24, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Hi Josh,

    Great pics of the graffiti!
    I’m looking for cool gallery’s in Rome who show street artist or illustrators, do you perhaps know any? It’s very hard to find them through the internet and I’m coming to Rome in june and would like to check them out.

    thanks!
    Have a great time in Berlin!

    Reply
  • 2. Berlin! Schiesse! « Josh Kramer Blog  |  April 6, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    […] was also in Mitte. We also walked along the longest stretch of the Berlin Wall still standing. As I mentioned before, Berlin is one of the most internationally famous locations of graffiti and street art, and we were […]

    Reply
  • 3. Lauryn  |  October 7, 2008 at 3:06 am

    Loved those graffiti, I saw them last week when I was in Testaccio…have you seen those stencils as well ? They seem to haunt the whole city now, they are a mystery to me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Older Posts


