Fried Eggplant Slices

March 1, 2008 at 1:39 am 5 comments

Like eggplant? Honestly, I don’t most of the time. I usually can’t get over the texture. However, last weekend, our friends had a guest currently enrolled in culinary school down in Calabria (the toe of the boot) and he made dinner. My favorite thing that he made were these fried eggplant slices, and David and I made them as part of lunch today. It’s an incredibly easy recipe, but I thought I’d photograph the process anyway. How we did it after the jump.

First, cut the eggplant into round slices. Since Italian eggplants are a little different (they are more in the shape of eggs and they are dark black) you could slice a standard purple one diagonally to get the same size.

Then get some flour and put a pinch of salt and flour in there. This was a little more than we needed.

Next, drag the slices through the flour, lightly covering them.

Meanwhile, heat enough olive oil to thickly coat the bottom of the pan and throw a clove of garlic in there. When the garlic is bubbling intensely, start putting the eggplant in.

When they get a little brown on the bottom (after about a minute), flip them and cook the other side. These are little overcooked.

Here’s the final product. Salt to taste and enjoy. The best ones were like the topmost one — only slightly brown. Anything dark brown tastes like burnt toast, which doesn’t contrast well with the light, floral taste of the juicy eggplant. These are really easy to make, and it only takes about ten minutes. I highly recommend it. You think you can guess what this will taste like, but it’s really beyond what you might expect.

Entry filed under: cooking, italian food, recipies. Tags: , , .

Art Brut in Rome Political Drama (of the Mythical Order)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bleeding espresso  |  March 1, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Mmm…I love fried eggplant, but I’m wondering about which cooking school this guest was at (I live in Calabria) 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jthan  |  March 1, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    my mom used to make these for me

    i realized the enormity of my love for eggplant when i was in italy a year ago. they know what’s up.

    Reply
  • 3. dckaplan  |  March 3, 2008 at 1:34 am

    I never thought when you were little and such a picky eater that you would end up a gourmet. Good for you! Love, Grandmom

    Reply
  • 4. dad  |  March 3, 2008 at 5:27 am

    Those slices look so lonely. Now, if they were covered in cheese & baked they would really be smack

    Reply
  • 5. frogfish  |  March 3, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    I agree with your dad. Last night I stir-fried some vegetables (zucchini and peppers) and topped it with cheese and it was elegant, simple

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


