Shout Outs

February 21, 2008 at 3:00 pm 4 comments

So, this is a bit unusual for me, but I figured it was worth doing. You see, since I started this blog last August, a lot of my friends have started blogs, and the inevitable happened — the blogs are good! Blogs have been around for over a decade, but now that they aren’t just gloried livejournals and xangas, everyone wants in. Paragraphs upon paragraphs of links after the jump.

Let me introduce you to some of the mysterious sounding links on my blogroll over to the right. I’ve noticed that a lot of college students create a blog specifically to communicate with people back home when they go abroad. There were several good blogs that have now stopped because the authors are back in the states, which is a shame. Several close friends of mine are following this trend of travel-blogging. David is one of my roommates here and a friend from home. (Dan, my other roommate, also blogs.) Mia, my summer traveling companion, is in Morocco. Finally, Charlotte, a talented photographer in her own right, is in Prague.

But plenty of friends from college are just blogging about their lives. Annie graduated from my school last year and now lives in Boston. And while I sometimes think of myself as the elder statesman of blogging among my friends, it is Greg that we all bow before. Greg actually gets paid for his writing, and has started a political site called The Cynic’s Party, which is really funny and growing in popularity. And of course there are other friends who keep a blog but only post so rarely that a visit every two months is all that’s needed to check up on it. Two friends who are dangerously approaching that frequency are Andrew and Drew.


This is a lot to read, so this puppy is your reward.

I’ve also noticed that people are using blogs more and more as organizational tools for groups they are in. Some of my friends on my street in DC put on excellent live shows in their basement, which they call The Party Pit. Other kids I know, use a blog called Kill Film Students to show off their work and talk about film in general. Finally, there’s a new progressive magazine starting up on my campus called AWOL, and I’ll be submitting comics and other work to them.

Even my friends from home have gotten in on the action! Peter (who lives in St. Paul/Minneapolis), and Rich (who lives in Cambridge/Boston) have recently started blogs with music criticism that is both accessible and really interesting. Sarah (at home outside of Philly) is exploring literary themes and other interesting ideas, and Ben (also in Minnesota) is usually ranting about Philly or Metal. I hope I didn’t forget too many people, feel free to leave links in the comments.

Since this is kind of a departure anyway, here’s some other housekeeping: To keep track of these and other blogs, I overwhelmingly recommend using Google Reader (sorry if you already do). If you have Gmail you’ve already got access to it, and you can put it right on your iGoogle homepage if you use that. Basically, you subscribe to anything with a RSS feed, like a blog, and then your reading comes to you — it’s amazing. In other news, last month was this blog’s best ever, with nearly two thousand hits. Thanks! Also, you know that place in the right hand column where it says “Read these, I picked them!” (No? Then scroll down.) Well, those are links that I bookmark with del.icio.us, which is awesome. I guarantee anything I put there will be worth looking at, except for the occasional recipe.

“cute puppy” courtesy of flickr user .klash

Entry filed under: blogging. Tags: , , , , , , .

Roman Homelessness Ti Amo Sempre Comic

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annierebekah  |  February 21, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    aw! thnx for shoutout bby boi!

    Reply
  • 2. Emily  |  February 21, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    you make me want to blog.

    Reply
  • 3. lizzeie nolan  |  February 22, 2008 at 3:19 am

    i have spread the gospel of netvibes to you yet ?

    It is kick ass visually bootyful RSS reader of choice these days :

    http://www.netvbes.com

    Reply
  • 4. frogfish  |  February 22, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    thanks, girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


