Quaderno: Il Gesu Church Angel

February 12, 2008 at 4:46 pm 1 comment

For my first on-site drawing class, we went to Sant’Ignazio di Loyola a Campo Marzio Il Gesu Church, an extremely Baroque church here in Rome. The church The chapel I drew at is dedicated to Saint Ignatius of Loyola, founder of the Jesuit order and former knight. Above is my favorite of the three drawings/sketches I did there. This angel looked to me like he was sliding down a banister. He’s giving what looks like either the hand gesture for “OK” or for blessing others. Below is a picture of what the sculpture looked like from where I was sitting. Click on it to see it bigger.

Entry filed under: drawing, Italy, quaderno, Roma. Tags: , , , , .

I Once Was Blind, But Now I Assisi Just In Time For The Feast of San. Valentino…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dad  |  February 13, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Very good drawing for a start. Why am I suprised since you’ve shown drawing ability since you were a child. Let’s see more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


