Blogging Kenyan Violence

January 30, 2008 at 9:01 pm Leave a comment

Since Kenya has become/continued to be violent throughout January, I thought I’d briefly write about an excellent website/blog I was turned onto recently. If you’re like me, you like to consider yourself a somewhat well informed American. That means being able to describe what’s going in the primaries but not what’s going on in the country of Africa. But unfortunately, even many Kenyans are in the dark, as television and radio access has been spotty/unreliable. However, some very intelligent Kenyan bloggers have allied and created Ushahidi. The site impressively utilizes tech like google maps in order to keep an up-to-date map of all violent events. And if you still don’t know what I’m talking about, they have what looks like a pretty good chronology of recent events. Still afraid of googlezon? Here’s web 2.0 at its best people.

photo from flickr user ActionPixs (Maruko)

Entry filed under: activism, africa, blogging. Tags: , , .

Quaderno: Fountain Bases Bologna and Venice for Carnivale

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


