The Cat Sanctuary

January 24, 2008 at 2:48 am 4 comments

So, the tram that we take to get downtown ends at Largo di Torre Argentina. Upon first inspection, there are a bunch of temple ruins down below street level. It’s kind of overgrown, and not really clear what it is, but hey, there are ruins all over Rome right?

Turns out that the site is also a sanctuary for the city’s many homeless cats. This was one of my favorite discoveries today. As it says on a sign: “All the cats are sterilized, vaccinated, tested. They live only on charity.” And it appears to be true. Here someone clearly left some salmon for the cats to enjoy:

One was three legged, and on the website, another has only one eye. These cats are tough, but as far as abandoned and stray cats go, they lead the good life. Apparently Rome has a lot of homeless cats, but don’t most cities? It’s certainly a better alternative to what Beijing is doing.

Entry filed under: animals, cats, Italy, Roma. Tags: , .

Welcome to Rome The Italian Open-Air Market

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dovecotemag  |  January 24, 2008 at 5:20 am

    Hey Girl,
    I’m so glad you are having a great time in Rome so far. I love stray cats! We took a stray in and had her forever. You may have met her before. RIP.

    I just posted to my blog and realized that you’re not linking to me.

    Fix that!

    Send me an email soon.

    -Sarah

    Reply
  • 2. Rae Bonfanti  |  January 24, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Oh man! Oh man! Can I get some more pictures of the cat sanctuary? I love cats.

    Reply
  • 3. Mythology at Centrale Montemartini « Josh Kramer Blog  |  March 19, 2008 at 1:47 am

    […] March 19, 2008 Today I took Althea, our friend from school, to the Roman forums and the Colosseum while David was in class. It was cool to finally get there, but nothing to write home (or blog) about especially. But after that, we met up with David and his Mythology class at Centrale Montemartini. Besides having a name that I think translates roughly into “Martini Mountain,” this museum acts as overflow for the popular Capitoline Museum in the Campidoglio above the forum and Piazza Venezia. From the 1890s until the 1930s, the building operated as a electric power station and when it was converted into a museum, a lot of the original industrial equipment was left intact. The result is a perfect example of the juxtaposition between modern and ancient that Rome does so well. […]

    Reply
  • 4. Rahma  |  May 31, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Nice to discover that you’ve visited this site. I discovered it online and did a post on my blog. Fascinating mix of history and cats.

    Nice photos too. Do you have more?

    Come and visit my new blog and website
    http://globalcat.wordpress.com/
    and
    http://www.globalcats.org/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


