Pittsburgh, Iron City, USA

January 7, 2008 at 5:31 pm 1 comment

The morning after returning from Brooklyn, I, along with my friend Peter, returned Mia to her family in Bethel Park, outside of Pittsburgh, PA. Peter and I had never been that far west into Pennsylvania before. I took a lot of pictures. And you can enjoy all of them, because I just upgraded to Pro.

It’s another old East Coast city, even more working class than I’m used to in Philly. It has grown on the production of Steel and Glass, and much of the city reflects that. Sometimes it’s more obvious, like in a church with a iron caged belltower, or in the many cool-looking bridges connecting the landmasses of the city (which are separated by three rivers). But it’s also evident in the hearty food of its working class eaters. The really famous Pittsburgh sandwhich, made by Primanti Bros., includes fries, coleslaw, and whatever else you order. It’s a bit bland, but they really pack it all in there, and with ketchup or hot sauce, it’s pretty good.

But the city is also defined by other things, like the rollings hills and the huge college presence. There were plenty of cool neighborhoods, and other places I could really get into, like the Strip District. Also, I was finally able to go to the Andy Warhol museum, and I was really surprised at how much I liked the Carnegie Museums. And I even had my introduction to Italian bar eating at a little place called La Prima Espresso, with plenty of older Pittsburghers conversing in Italiano. Oh, and there was lots of Stealers schwag.

Entry filed under: east coast, food, italian food, pittsburgh. Tags: , , , .

New York for New Years Illustration Alive and Well on Threadless

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. erica  |  January 8, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    hey Josh! We miss you at Cowgirl. I hope you guys have a great trip. Tell Mia I said hey!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


