Baked (?!) Eggs

December 28, 2007 at 2:11 am 2 comments

Mark Bittman of the NYT convinced me that baked eggs were a good idea, and he was right. It’s true that there are many ways to cook eggs, but baking is pretty much as easy as all the other ones. Watch his video too, they’re all great. He tells you to use basil, prosciutto, tomato. Here’s what I did: little grape tomatoes (end of the season that my mom grew this summer) cut in half, with thinly chopped scallions (we had them, why not?), pre-cooked bacon, and thickly sliced pecorino romano. Then, à la Bittman, I cracked the egg right into the ramekin and sprinkled sea salt (love it!) and some pepper. I was only making one, so into the toaster oven at 375 degrees. Twelve minutes later I retrieved my delicious breakfast with a slightly firmer yoke than I would have wanted, but one that was still runny:

Things I would have done differently: If you noticed in Bittman’s recipe, you’re supposed to grease the ramekin with butter or oil; whoops. As I said above, I think I left it in a minute or two longer than necessary, but no harm no foul. Also, if I had thought about it in advance, I would have shredded the cheese because it didn’t completely melt, but I didn’t really mind. Things that worked really well: The sea salt on top was delicious, and the scallions provided excellent flavor. TRY THIS if you are not vegan, it is yummy.

Entry filed under: cooking, dairy, eggs, food, recipies. Tags: , , , .

Steampunk Blows My Mind The Center for Cartoon Studies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joel gardner  |  January 1, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    let your eggs run,
    but
    don’t let your eggs runaway.

    Reply
  • 2. Tony  |  January 1, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Nice. I made eight as a New Year’s brunch today – a little cream, chopped parsley, grated Gruyere, salt and pepper. We’ll be trying this recipe again.

    Happy New Year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


