Wikipedia Bartering

December 22, 2007 at 10:51 pm 1 comment

So Matt Schwartz, of The Philadelphia Independent, befriended me on facebook, and he must have noticed this post, because he offered me one of the remaining Independent t-shirts in exchange for creating a wikipedia entry for his now defunct paper.

So, I sat down this morning, and gradually rediscovered how to write a wikipedia page. Here’s the result; please feel free to make changes as is your want. If you’ve never written a page, or even done some editing, you’re seriously missing out. Writing on wikipedia is truly unique. Everyone knows that everyone can do it, but you really have to work out a system for yourself.

In case you haven’t done any kind of programming or design, an important term is “what you see is what you get,” or WYSIWYG. There are two kind of interfaces, WYSIWYG and non-WYSIWYG. Microsoft Word is WYSIWYG because when you make something bold, you see it immediately as will appear in the final version. This is completely different from HTML, the language of websites, which you must preview in order to know what it actually looks like.

Why do I make this distinction here? Well, wikipedia is more or less a hybrid of the two. Your coded paragraphs look more or less the way they do as they appear on the wikipedia page, spaces included. There is a little coding, like using [[double brackets]] to link to wikipedia articles, but it’s so easy to pick up because you can so easily edit any article! Honestly, the most confusing part is getting good, public domain images, but it’s doable. Well, eggnog city here I come. If anyone wants to brag about pages they’ve made, the comments would be a great place, (hint).

Entry filed under: journalism, newspapers, wikipedia. Tags: .

Friend Vernacular Back At Home: Tom Jones, Diner Extraordinare

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. David Gerard  |  December 23, 2007 at 7:57 am

    So you wrote the whole thing in one hit? I’ve always tended to start new articles as a few paragraphs with references and expand from there … when people ask me how to write for Wikipedia, I note that articles I start like that tend to stay around. Of course I’ve been around Wikipedia four years, but have been sucked far enough into the volunteer bureaucracy that I have to consciously remember to write actual articles … y’know, the thing that lured me in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


