Vermont Butter & Cheese’s Cultured Butter

December 4, 2007 at 5:41 pm 2 comments

Mitch Hedburg (1968-2005) had a joke about having a cameo in a movie with Peter Frampton. Not being familiar with Frampton’s music, Hedburg had to come up with something to say that would detract from that: “Hey Frampton! Do you like toast? Me too! It is warm and crispy and the perfect place for jelly to lay. Now go away, I ain’t got shit to say to you!”

Toast is the perfect place for jelly to lay, but even more perfect is butter. Butter is so essential to so many things that we cook and eat that it’s really easy to substitute and forget about. Last week I even made a risotto with my vegan roommate’s “buttery sticks” because it was all that we had. No loss, it turned out really well, but I can never help but wonder what really good butter would have done.

So this weekend, I took home some cultured butter made by Vermont Butter & Cheese Company. I cannot stop making toast. I’ve been hearing about it for months; the reputation of the product and the company are both really high in the cheese world. Owner Allison Hooper is also the founding member of the Vermont Cheese Council. And her butter is really delicious. It’s nutty and rich, and hits you with waves of melting umami. I’m really loving this butter.

photo courtesy of flickr user Lex in the City

Entry filed under: bliss, cheese, dairy, food. Tags: .

Microcredit Through Kiva.org Michael Chabon’s X-Men

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jthan  |  December 5, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Making yourself delicious butter is easy as pie… You just beat cream for a long ass time and add a lil salt if you want to. It’s embarassingly simple and beats Land O’ Lakes anyday.

    My mother said that when they used to give my grandfather cream to whip into whipped cream, he wouldn’t know his own strength, nor what exactly the desired consistency was for the tasty topping, and would often end up with butter instead.

    Reply
  • 2. I Still Love Food! « Josh Kramer Blog  |  February 18, 2010 at 6:10 am

    […] side.) For grilled cheese, bread is important, and so is butter (Vermont Butter and Cheese Co. butter is the obvious choice), but it’s all about the cheese. When you’re melting cheeses, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


