Sucka Free Europe

November 23, 2007 at 5:52 pm 1 comment

So, I’m planning my European jaunt this summer. From the middle of May to the middle of June, I’ll be traveling with my friend Mia all over Western Europe. After her program ends, I’ll fly from Rome to Madrid. She’ll take the train up from Algeceras, which is on the Spanish side of the 8-mile straight of Gibraltar, connecting Europe to Morocco, where Mia will study in Rabat, the capital.

You can see our trip here, on an interactive map site called flagr. However, the flags aren’t connected. So, from Madrid, we’re heading by train to Barcelona, Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, Geneva, Monaco, and then flying out of Rome. Obviously plans may change a little as we know more about these places. Let me know if you have any recommendations about cities, European travel, or anything.

So anyway, my dad showed me his “Europe On $5 A Day,” from when he traveled solo in 1971, and it’s an interesting departure from modern Frommer’s equivalents. For example, “Schedule the Prado for the beginning of your Madrid stay; you’ll want to shoot yourself if you find only a few available for this profound experience at the end of your visit.” Also, I love the design of the cover.

Entry filed under: europe, travel. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Logo Fever ’08 Ansel Adams’ “Born Free and Equal”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Josh's Dad  |  November 28, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Looking back it’s hard to belive that at 23 I had the nerve to travel in Europe by myself for 6 weeks. I’m glad Josh has friends to share his expieriences with. I’m excited about his trip & can’t wait to read his blog while he’s travelling in Europe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Older Posts


