Berger Explains Semiotics

November 8, 2007 at 1:19 am Leave a comment

I don’t know if you’ve ever taken a class or academically discussed semiotics before, but it’s really fucking complicated and equally interesting. In layman’s terms, it’s the study of “signs and symbols,” but there is a lot more going on and lot of philosophers have contributed to the meaning and the “science.” Anyway, for Graphic Design History class, I read an essay by who I believe is Arthur Asa Berger, and it explains the terms and ideas so well that I was floored.

Seriously, I was blown away at the simplicity and common-sense approach. So much so that I have uploaded it here. If you have any interest in images, communication, philosophy, or pretty much how we have thought about anything in this or the last century, you will find this interesting.

image courtesy of flickr user danie;

Entry filed under: art, communication, philosophy, semiotics.

How to Make the Perfect Mix (With Mixtape) Arnulfo Is a Real Name of Someone Who Speaks Spanish

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Older Posts


