When In Rome…

October 29, 2007 at 9:27 pm 1 comment

So it’s confirmed, I’m studying abroad in Rome. I just turned the check in today, so shit just got real. I’ll be in the Eternal City from January 21 to at least May 10th, and who knows where afterwards. The plan is to travel around afterwards with friends, but it’s unclear for how long. I’ll be home for a bit (too long?) before, but when I get there, this blog’s content will probably change to accommodate traveling and Italo disco.

I’m really excited to take classes, travel around the boot, and most importantly, eat. My friend Daryn is there now and I beg her for deets as often as I can, but I’m pretty psyched about cooking at eating out as much as I can afford. (Beware the killer euro!)

I’ve never been to Europe before, which is common currency among my jet setting upper middle class white friends, which is probably why I chose Rome instead of more exotic locales like Kenya, Morocco or the former Yugoslavia. That, and I’ve watched a lot of Sopranos recently.

More seriously, I finally feel ready to go, but now I’ve also established such a comfortable life here (read: girlfriend, friends, white-picket fenced house) that I’m not looking forward to leaving for an extended period.

Anyway, a lot of things have come up in my Italian class and through some Rome blogs I’m reading, but if you have any suggestions about what to eat or do, I’d appreciate them.

image scanned from the current issue of Ex Machina, a great Wildstorm comic

Entry filed under: Italy.

NRA Pamphlet/Zine How to Make the Perfect Mix (With Mixtape)

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


