Wes Anderson Ranking: What’s Your Top Five?

October 22, 2007 at 2:00 pm 4 comments

So it seems like every time a Wes Anderson movie comes out, people love to rank them. Darjeeling Limited makes five movies, and that’s enough to make a decent list. Most people I have discussed this with are very opinionated about it and rightfully so—so many people love these fucking movies. Below is how I arrange them, but write how you would do it in the comments.

5. Bottle Rocket: This movie is raw and fresh, but distinctly WA. The Wilson brothers are always played well against each other and this is great first movie by any standard.

4. The Royal Tenenbaums: I like this movie a lot, but I don’t connect with it as much as other people do. It has all the necessary story elements and is told like all the others, but I don’t feel the need to re-watch it over and over: once every two years or so is enough to keep me going. It does really make me want to live in a brownstone though.

3. The Darjeeling Limited: My initial reaction to this movie was huge and I really enjoyed it. The Indian imagery is captivating and engaging and the acting is great, but my friend called it a little “forced” and now I can’t get that out of my head. I see what he means, but it doesn’t make it that much less enjoyable for me. And I liked the music, even (gasp) without Mark Mothersbaugh.

2. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou: I fucking loved this movie and still can’t believe the people who didn’t get it. It had an excellent cast and score on par with Rushmore’s. It was almost surreal/magical realist in premise but completely consistent with the rest of his movies in content. If you can’t handle claymation fish, then I really don’t know what to tell you.

1. Rushmore: I just love this movie. Not only because of what the movie did for the handjob (you really have to have seen it to understand that) but because of how I feel when I watch it. For someone in school, there’s so much to relate to and linger over. It’s my favorite movie and it features my favorite movie soundtrack, and that’s entirely subjective but entirely justified. Have you ever been biking on a brisk fall day while listening to “Hardest Geometry Problem In The World?” Have you noticed that squirrelly little kid in almost every scene? Have you ever seriously considered starting the Kite Flying Society?

photo from The Darjeeling Limited courtesy of flickr user idealterna

Entry filed under: art, bliss, movies, Wes Anderson.

Flamingo Typeface A Through O NRA Pamphlet/Zine

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shane Lavalette  |  October 31, 2007 at 11:55 am

    The Royal Tenenbaums
    The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
    The Darjeeling Limited
    Rushmore
    Bottle Rocket

    Reply
  • 2. Poet Laureate  |  November 9, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    1. Rushmore
    2. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
    3. Royal Tenenbaums
    4. The Darjeeling Limited
    5. Bottle Rocket

    maybe I just need to see the Darj a few more times to appreciate all of the quirks. only time will tell

    Reply
  • 3. emily  |  November 22, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Great list. You can Watch The Passion of Joan of Arc here Free

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah S. Davis  |  July 24, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Josh!

    It’s Sarah. I was looking for an offical Wes Anderson site (which doesn’t exist, apparently), and I found this on the first page of my Google search! Well done, my friend.
    And here’s my ranking:

    1. Rushmore
    2. The Royal Tenenbaums
    2. Fantastic Mr. Fox (two way tie with TRT)
    3. The Life Aquatic
    4. The Darjeeling Limited
    5. Bottle Rocket

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


