Mountain Goats Magic

September 21, 2007 at 3:57 pm 1 comment

I went to see the Mountain Goats last night. They are one of my favorite bands and sometimes I take it for granted until I go see them. They are just one of those bands that if I know about them playing, I’m compelled to go. John Darnielle is an excellent performer and this tour is not to be missed. As was explained to the audience, this is the second tour the Mountain Goats are doing since their most recent album, Get lonely. Which means, in essence, that they are playing old songs, which is excellent. Also, John has a reputation for not playing any songs that are shouted out to him during a show. But last night, he played almost everything that was shouted, going “way off list.” Not to mention that his stage banter is golden and instantly lovable. The whole thing was magical. And also, the opening band, the Bowerbirds was great. I mean, way better than one should expect.

Entry filed under: bliss. Tags: , , .

Doctor, It Hurts When I Blog! My Corkboards

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dad  |  September 23, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Is this for real ? I find it hard to belive there are groups with names like Mountain Goats & Bowerbirds. How about Leapin Lizards or Golden Eagles ?? Stop makin this stuff up !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


