Squash Blossom are Sexcellent

September 9, 2007 at 2:34 pm 1 comment

When I first read this post last week, I was interested but had honestly never heard of squash blossoms. So, fast forward a week or so and I’m at the Dupont Farmer’s Market today, and here’s six squash blossoms for $1.50. Hell, I’ll try anything for $1.50. They were beautiful, and the woman suggested making a light tempura out of them with a light beer or sparkling water, which I’m sure is good, but sounded a little off to me. Anyway, I continued to walk around and shop and I remembered the recipe on Amateur Gourmet. I really recommend Amateur Gourmet for recipes; he’s really adventurous, and writes in a really peculiar and amusing way that I can relate to: “This recipe is a composite of several recipes so I suppose you can say this is a recipe I created myself and if you said that I wouldn’t correct you.” I looked in the fridge when I got home and had everything except fresh chevrè (I know, the guy who works in the cheese store doesn’t have the right cheese) so I used my roommate’s ricotta, which was of the perfect consistency without the tartness the goat cheese would have had. Also, one of the commentators suggested using a chive to tie up the end of flower and that worked great, but it was a bit tricky to get them tied. All in all, the flavor was great and it smelled amazingly floral (big surprise, right?) while frying. Make this, but get a friend to help you with the prep.

Entry filed under: cheese, cooking, farmer's market, local food, squash.

GOOD Photo Booth Live Blogging the VMAs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Adam  |  September 11, 2007 at 1:41 am

    Glad you liked it! I made a new one with a pumpkin filling that should go up on Amazon sometime soon… I’ll link to it on my blog when that happens.
    Thanks!
    Adam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


