Santa Baraba Farmer’s Market: Unicorn Horn $8 lb

August 22, 2007 at 5:05 pm 2 comments

So I figured that these several hours spent in the Phoenix airport would be best spent by blogging, which is why I’m just now getting around to blogging about the Santa Barbara Farmer’s Market, which I went to on Saturday. Basically, I was floored to see things that I’ve only ever seen for sale in supermarkets. Pluots? They’ve got to be fake right?

First of all, this place is huge! According to my girlfriend, it has only gotten bigger, but it’s by far the biggest I’ve ever seen. As local foods become more popular, farmer’s markets are expanding everywhere, with interesting results. In areas like Santa Barbara, EVERYTHING can grow so almost everything is fair game. I bought some jalepenos and chilis for my pickles.

Entry filed under: CA, farmer's market, local food.

Things to Aspire Towards: Cactus Lawn Andrew W. K.!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  August 22, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Pluots are real but not natural. They are a cross of plum and apricot, pobably aritificially polinated to create the cross.

    Reply
  • 2. madeleine  |  September 1, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    how adorable is your mom?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


