Photo Tour of C’est Cheese

August 18, 2007 at 1:00 pm 1 comment

In downtown Santa Barbara, there’s this great little cheese store next to an Our Daily Bread called C’est Cheese. It’s a really nice neighborhood style store, with local art for sale on the walls and old-fashioned hardwood counters. It’s small, they definitely have under 100 cheeses, and some of them you can get at a Dean and Delucca type place, but they are all taken care of, and I’m sure taste as good as the few I tried. They have a small wine section with a paddle in front of it that says “Do Not Enter If You’re Not 21,” so I didn’t. They also have a small but nice selection of artisan chocolates, which Cowgirl could do for. Anyway, on with the tour. Click here for a better look at any of the pictures.

I was immediately jealous of their ability to have only a screen door and still be able to keep most of their cheeses out all day, unrefrigerated. As you can see, the front display is pretty cute.

As you can see, it’s a small store but they give you plenty of room to wander around and they still manage to tastefully display many artisan dried goods. We have a lot of them at cowgirl. Like the cheeses, some were cheaper, some were more expensive.

I really liked how they used the drawers in the display; it’s like being in someone’s kitchen.

A few things about this photo: They have almost my dream set up: Plenty of space, chef’s knives, butcher paper, price list.

This is really nice looking display, but I think it might be a little tough logistically. When I asked to try the reblochon, which was in the bottom right of this case, the lady helping me had to get up on a stool and lean in precariously, which didn’t look like too much fun.

It’s kind of blurry but I just thought that these little mice holding the signs on the fig and nut bread were too cute.

Here’s one final picture. They choose to keep their cheese wrapped all the way around, and it appears to really work for them here. One place I worked in the past wrapped every cheese, and since there was usually between 300 and 500 cheeses, that didn’t always go well. Here, I didn’t see any sweat or signs of suffocating cheese. The selection, while small, is really good and obviously shows a great deal of effort on the part of the owners to make sure every base is covered. I’d be happy to have this as my local store.

Entry filed under: CA, cheese.

Santa Barbara…On Fire! What Next For Harry and the Potters?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dckaplan  |  September 4, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    I loved the pix of the cheese shop. Someday, who knows?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


