Cage-Free

August 12, 2007 at 11:56 pm Leave a comment

A Dozen Cage Free Brown Eggs

There’s a big article on Cage-free eggs in the NYT. It’s pretty interesting what different companies are going through, or being forced to go through, to have these new eggs. I think this quote sums it up well: “There are pros and cons to each system,” Ms. Antonelli said. “Either way, these are not free-roaming chickens living out in a pasture.”

“Cage-free” has become way more a buzz-word than I realized, because in my world, a lot of people expect them. There were protests to get AU, my college, to switch, and they are the only kind of eggs available at Whole Foods, where I do most of my grocery shopping. What made me realize that the Average American probably doesn’t understand what the term means was when this bitter old woman came into Cowgirl, the left-leaning cheese store that I work in, and asked if the eggs were “free-range.” My co-worker didn’t really know what to say because the woman was clearly just trying to show she was above what she deemed as rediculous labels. I tried to shout over to them that “free-range” applies to chicken meat, and not eggs. I think she was kind of hard of hearings, so no dice.

Anyway, I kind of agree that foodie buzz-words are kind of superfluous, but they sometimes have the ability to popularize kind of fancy-shmancy things for the general public, which has its benefits.

photo courtesy of flickr user consumatron

Entry filed under: eggs, local food.

Songs of Summer “Aesop In The City”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


