Blended Frozen Bananas, the Ultimate Dessert

April 20, 2011 at 5:23 am 5 comments

What’s like ice cream but cheaper, healthier, vegan, and easy to make yourself? It’s not a trick question. It’s bananas! No, actually. Try this, and die a thousand deaths of delight, only to be reborn a phoenix of culinary ingenuity.

OK, enough purple prose. Peel at least two bananas, preferably ripe, but the older they are the sweeter the end product. Break them into smaller pieces, maybe two or three each, and freeze. Once frozen, cut into thin slices and put into blender or food processor. If you’re making a lot, it’s probably best to not start with the blender more than three quarters of the way full. You can add the rest once you get going.

Now comes the only tricky part. The first time I tried this I wasn’t careful and nearly broke my mini food processor. So go slow, on the lowest setting, and add a little water if you need to. Remember frozen bananas are pretty hard, so this is not easy for that little motor.

When you get the bottom mixed a little, use a spoon to mash it up a little. Then mix a little more.

Repeat until the consistency is starting to change, and when it’s about half gelato-looking stuff and half baby-food-looking stuff, push the bigger chunks toward the bottom.

If you’re like me, when you get here, and it’s mostly mixed up, you add two large dollops of Nutella. Oh yes.

Check out the video. Mesmerizing, no? When it’s nice and creamy, get it out of there and back in the freezer if you really want it to taste like ice-cream. At this point I was literally licking the rest off the blender blade, which I do NOT recommend.

Here’s what it looks like after about a half-hour in the freezer, which made it nice and frosty. This is two bananas, so keep that in mind. When I’m eating this stuff, and this is the third time in the last week, I’m thinking… THIS IS ONLY BANANAS. Well, in my case there’s also Nutella, but you get it.

Will it ever go bad? Maybe, but I doubt it. Is this the perfect dessert? You tell me. My new goal is to always have frozen bananas in the freezer.

Entry filed under: cooking, food, fun. Tags: , , , , .

Post-MoCCA News Next Up…Thesis!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Judy  |  April 21, 2011 at 3:04 am

    What happens if you slice the bananas before you freeze them?

    Reply
  • 2. Josh  |  April 21, 2011 at 3:07 am

    I’ve thought about that, haven’t tried it. I’m not sure it would be any easier, especially considering that slices of a room-temp banana stick to the knife a lot.

    Reply
  • 3. Beth Hetland  |  April 25, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    this is a very excellent post to read. And I can’t wait to die a thousand deaths to be reborn again… !

    Reply
  • 4. Josh  |  April 25, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Now’s your chance! I just put some in the studio freezer

    Reply
  • 5. Mom  |  May 8, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Have you tried freezing slices of banana? You can eat them plain for a healthy snack but your recipe sounds good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


