Remembering Salamandastron

February 15, 2011 at 4:26 am 2 comments

Well some of my friends have been posting tributes to Brian Jacques, and I can’t really not join in. Here’s a painting of the cover of my favorite of his books.

I don’t know, something about badgers protecting their treasures in a mountain sure caught my imagination in elementary school. I also remember really loving this cover as a kid. I think as children, when we’re least likely to understand the technical qualities of the art we like, we especially appreciate what strikes us as sublime. But maybe that’s for another conversation.

On a technical note, I’m trying to apply recent things I’ve learned about watercolors/colored inks/ink washes/opaque white here as well as theory about color value from my prof. Alec Longstreth. I still have some things to learn for sure, but it’s getting more fun, which is probably a good sign.

Entry filed under: color, comics, drawing, illustration, inking, inspiration. Tags: , , , .

New CCS Links: The Class of 2011 MoCCA Approaches, Along With New Comics

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bailey  |  February 15, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    yessss, this was my favorite one! Looks awesome.

    Reply
  • 2. A breath of fresh air. « Comic Sutra Sketchblog  |  February 19, 2011 at 3:00 am

    [...] my last post, but do you remember that Pearls of Lutra picture I drew? Well, my friends Kevin and Josh have also drawn pictures celebrating the work of the late Brian Jacques. They are both awesome [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


