Three Kinds of Color

January 27, 2011 at 5:52 am Leave a comment

I print the bulk of my comics, and I can only afford black and white most of the time. But I love color, who doesn’t? Recently, I’ve been messing around with different strategies and tools for coloring. I wouldn’t say I’m good at any of them, but maybe I’m approaching “not bad” status on one or two as I get more practice.

Here’s a watercolor based on a picture from The Sartorialist:

Pretty straightforward. Vanessa Davis‘ trick is to always add a little purple to jeans. Here’s a drawing with bombay colored inks (and black india ink) almost all straight out of the bottle with a dip pen:

Finally, there’s computer color, which I recently used for a newspaper piece that you can read here. Each method has its own advantages, as well as challenges, but I look forward to working more in each and not really nailing down a personal “coloring style” any time soon.

Entry filed under: art, color. Tags: , , , .

The Pacific Northwest New CCS Links: The Class of 2011

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


