One Place, One Cheese

October 13, 2010 at 4:52 am 11 comments

If there are two things that I love, they are comics and cheese. I’m starting into my senior thesis in earnest now, and I’m looking around for things to report on. This summer I discovered that a cheese I had been selling for years, Tarentaise, is made only twenty-five minutes from where I live now in Vermont. I went there recently, just as the leaves were turning, and was blown away by the beauty of the place. Cheese people will value the significance of this fact: their aging room is amazing — zero ammonia or harsh smells. Here’s a piece I did based on my trip. It will be published later in a To Be Announced volume. Click on the pages to see them larger.

Don’t worry, they’re not all gonna be this dense. Next week, pictures from the farm!

Entry filed under: cheese, comics, sustainability, vt. Tags: , , , , .

Splitting, a Dream Comic Press Roundup, an Announcement, and Some Pictures

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thecanonball  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    This is great! And informative! Nice job.

    Reply
  • 2. Judy  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I love this!

    Reply
  • 3. dad  |  October 14, 2010 at 12:55 am

    Very informational & the drawing was excellent

    Reply
  • 4. Adam  |  October 14, 2010 at 5:01 am

    Really good stuff man, I hear Culture calling…. It’s a really cool way to check out the process and give a bit of personality to the cheese. If you feel to dense, check out Kindstedt and it will make you feel a lot better.

    Reply
  • 5. Janet Conley  |  October 14, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Josh, This is awesome. A great educational tool for our staff here at Cowgirl Creamery. You are well know in our shop through your comics even though most of our staff haven’t met you. Stop by!

    Reply
  • 6. Barbara Dixon  |  October 14, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Fascinating story. I wish the family luck in their cheese making process and pray they rack up more accolades. Kudos to the Putnam family and to you Josh Kramer for telling their story so beautifully with such dedication and lovely illustrations!

    Reply
  • 7. cg  |  October 21, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    When will the book ‘One place one cheese” be available to buy?

    Reply
  • [...] would be, here are some pictures from my trip to Thistle Hill farms earlier this month. Compare the comic to “the real thing,” if you dare. See all the pictures larger at my [...]

    Reply
  • 9. Mom  |  October 25, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Interesting pictures and comic. Looks like a lovely place. Congrats on all the publicity.

    Reply
  • [...] and I’ll soon post pages from that on The Cartoon Picayune. But I’ve also repackaged that short comic about cheese into the handsome $1 mini you see below. Yes, they all actually have a hand-cut window on the [...]

    Reply
  • 11. A Tour of My CCS Thesis « Josh Kramer Blog  |  May 4, 2011 at 2:23 am

    [...] of that is on the internet to read, yet. The cheese story with the die-cut is the newly repackaged One Place, One Cheese. Finally, there’s an appendix on how I’ve done my reporting. I’m very pleased [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


