Fake Banana Comic

September 29, 2009 at 6:07 am 1 comment

Can you believe this is run-of-the-mill homework? The assignment is for a certain website that we still might send these to, so I’m gonna stay mum on that, but I enjoyed working on this page nonetheless. This is the first piece of comics on this site where I’ve used an Ames Lettering Guide and Hunt 102 “Crow Quill” nib pen. I know, my lettering still needs work, and so does my hatching, but hey, I’m working on both. Make of this what you will. I’m trying to blog more frequently now, we’ll see how this goes.

SPX was great by the way. Spent way too much money and saw some awesome people. I only made 50 cents on Bat Tweets (see last post), but I put them in a lot of hands and received a few nice compliments.

UPDATE: After an in-class critique and me realizing that my embellishments are often unnecessary and even harmful to my compositions, I took away that stoopid spotlight around the banana peel. Don’t remember what I’m talking about? Good.

DOUBLE-UPDATE: I probably should have followed up on this with another blog post but this was put on Significant Objects and the banana was ultimately sold for $76. I still can’t believe it.

Entry filed under: CCS homework, comics. Tags: .

My First Mini: Bat Tweets! John Porcellino Visits CCS

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Poet Laureate  |  September 29, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Use the 30 cents wisely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Shit Just Got Real

Josh Kramer is a blogger, cartoonist, journalist, etc. I'm the Editor of The Cartoon Picayune. I live in Washington, DC and I just graduated from the Center for Cartoon Studies. See work by me and my classmates.

Latest Tweets

Older Posts


